Emerson’s Self Reliance Thoughts & Reactions

Before I read Ralph Waldo Emerson’s “Self-Reliance”, I didn’t expect too much from it, but after reading it, I realized some topics that he mentions in it that were interesting to me. As the title suggests, this essay of his is about self-reliance or basically using yourself to succeed instead of relying on other. To me I find this very appropriate to me and maybe other people like me. He often talks about not conforming, which is something I’ve heard of before. I agree with Emerson’s opinion on how we should trust ourselves and not conform to the world, because to me if people did just conform to the how the world was there would be no value to anything. Being free from conformism lets different things become invented and this is how the worlds evolves. Lastly he says some things about how society basically makes us change our values to become like everyone else, or conform. This to me is very true but I myself try not to become like society and be different because that’s better for the world to me.

This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

